Presidential Polls 2017: Tricky selection process simplified

Kristopher Drake
July 17, 2017

On Monday, members queued up in State Legislative Assembly Secretariats across the country to exercise their vote. Before five days President Pranab Mukherjee's term will expire. There will be three agents each for two candidates - Ram Nath Kovind and S Meira Kumar - and two of them will be inside the polling venue at a time. Selection process is a bit tricky and different from the normal elections so here News Heads try to make it simple to understand for its readers.

Lawmakers have begun to cast their votes to elect the 14 President of India. Among the first ones to cast their votes was Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Sanjay D Kakde, Independent member of Rajya Sabha, has been allowed by EC to cast his ballot at the polling centre in Vidhan Bhavan.

President of India will be elected by the Electoral college comprising of all the elected members of Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, and Legislative Assemblies of the States in India. The value of one MP's vote is 708 and the value of one UP MLA vote is 208. The vote value of an MLA from Assam is 116.

A total of 337 votes were cast on Saturday in the West Bengal assembly in the presidential polls, sources said. Ballot papers are of two colours-green for MPs and pink for MLAs.

Kovind - ex Bihar governor - has an advantage over Meira Kumar - a former Lok Sabha speaker - as the numbers are stacked in favour of the ruling NDA.

PMK youth wing leader Anbumani Ramadoss will be boycotting the presidential elections since the BJP had failed to meet the PMK's demand for a promise to constitute the Cauvery Management Board within one month for extending support to Kovind.

Announcing the schedule of the election, the EC made it clear that use of any other pen could lead to invalidation of the vote at the time of counting under Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Rules, 1974.

DMK's MK Stalin also cast his vote at the Tamil Nadu Assembly in the morning.

Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said the fight between Kovind and Kumar was "one of ideologies" and rated the latter as the best choice for the president's post. Added all up, the total number of MPs vote in India is 776 (Lok Sabha 543 + Rajya Sabha 233).

Other reports by Ligue1talk

Discuss This Article