WhatsApp 'Delete For Everyone' Feature Has Rolled Out

Randall Craig
October 28, 2017

The latest WhatsApp Messenger update has finally rolled out the much-coveted functionality that allows users to remove sent messages.

The feature can be quite handy if you sent a wrong message to someone or made a typo that you wanted to retract. For starters, you can only delete messages for everyone up to seven minutes after sending. The website includes that in its present execution, people will know that Whatsapp itself erased the message. Also, Whatsapp explained through FAQs, "Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients" chats (*).

Based on the preliminary report, the sent out message will be deleted from the chat page along with from the notifications panel.

WABetaInfo claims the rollout for WhatsApp's recall feature will be very slow and hit iOS, Android, and Windows Phone. More careful users may still be able to look at a preview of the messages from their notification panel, but once opened only the "This message was deleted" label will greet them. If you are the sender then it shall read the prompt "You deleted this message for everyone".


Right now, sent messages can be deleted only from the sender's end, not from the recipient's end.

There's also no built-in mechanism to notify you if deleting for everyone failed for any reason. Secondly, deleting a message in no way ensures that the message wasn't seen by the recipient. Also the texts contained in the quoted messages can not be deleted. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen.

WhatsApp is giving you a new power. It was rumored a year ago that Whatsapp may introduce this feature, but now, it is confirmed. A feature "Delete for Me" will also appear alongside "Delete For Everyone". This means that you can't be sure if the message was indeed deleted from the device or not. Still, if you're a few drinks in and want to retract the romantic advance that was sent to your tailor instead of your Tinder date, the undo button could be a life-saver.

Other reports by Ligue1talk

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER