Kansas faces Missouri in first-round NCAA volleyball tournament match

Kristopher Drake
November 28, 2017

Baylor garnered the No. 12 overall seed when the NCAA field was revealed on Sunday, and will face Miami of OH in the tournament's first round at 7 p.m. Friday at the Ferrell Center.

The No. 7 seed Gophers (26-5, 15-5 Big Ten) will face North Dakota (30-7, 12-4 Big Sky) on Friday night at Maturi Pavilion in the first round of the NCAA tournament. The winners of those two matches will meet in the second round, to be played at 9 p.m. (CT), Saturday. CSU played three teams this season that also made it into the 2017 NCAA Tournament - Michigan, Florida State and Colorado. The championship match is set for 6 p.m. December 12 with the contest expected to be on ESPN3.

Notre Dame has advanced to at least the NCAA Championship round of 16 on six occasions. United Kingdom will host East Tennessee State University at 7:30 p.m. ET. After losing back-to-back matches against Washington and USC, the team bounced back to beat No. 18 UCLA, Arizona State and Arizona.

Before chatting with reporters after the selection show, Winters already pulled up the box score from CU's first-round match against Coastal Carolina two years ago. Junior outside hitter Taryn Kloth (3.05 kps.) was named Second Team All-BIG EAST and earned MVP honors at the BIG EAST Championships after leading CU to the title in Saturday's 3-2 win at Marquette. The victor of Illinois State-IUPUI will advance to face Bowling Green (17-11) or host Green Bay (15-15).

Radford will visit American Athletic Conference champ Wichita State for the first round of the NCAA tournament. Missouri State boasts the MVC Player of the Year in Lily Johnson, the Libero of the Year in Emily Butters, and the Coach of the Year in Melissa Stokes.

With the selection, High Point is the first Big South volleyball team to collect an at-large berth into the field. The Chanticleers recorded their first NCAA Tournament victory last season when it defeated James Madison in five sets in the first round.

The NCAA Final Four will be play in Kansas City, Mo., at the Sprint Center on December 14 and 16.

With the No. 1 overall seed, Penn State will host the regional on December 8 and 9 as well.

Other reports by Ligue1talk

Discuss This Article