Facebook Snooze lands in time to avoid Star Wars spoilers

Randall Craig
December 17, 2017

Then you might want to use Facebook's new snooze feature - which allows you to temporarily unfollow someone.

The snooze button can accessed from the drop-down menu on any post that pushes you over the edge.

Launched today, the company says it allows users to mute posts from their Facebook friends and the pages they've liked.

The Snooze period lasts 30 days, which isn't exactly ideal for my wedding scenario, but it is good for when your ex first gets into that new relationship, or your friend has a baby and can't stop posting 50 pictures a day, or your friend gets a puppy and can't stop posting 100 pictures a day. You have a connection with hundreds of people on Facebook but honestly can't stand to associate with a lot of them. "You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time".

The people, pages and groups you hit the snooze button on won't know, and Facebook will notify you when you snooze is about to expire.


No one knows you've done it, and after the Snooze period is over everything goes back to normal, so you don't have to do not forget to fix it. The post was entitled, " Hard Questions: Is Spending Time on Social Media Bad for Us? .

Facebook's announcement comes during a week a former executive expressed guilt for helping to create tools that, in his view, were ripping society apart. Otherwise the most applicable scenerio for the function would be when you know that a particular friend/page/group usually spams your feed with a certain message in a particular season, the snoozing them would be ideal...

Facebook's move is based on a bunch of internal and external research on how social media affects moods.

Ginsberg and Burke admitted to not having all the answers but committed to continuing to work on it in the years ahead.

Other reports by Ligue1talk

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER