Jairam Thakur Named Next Himachal CM After Dhumal Withdraws From Race

Kristopher Drake
December 26, 2017

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday elected Jairam Thakur as the leader of the legislature party leader thereby making it clear that he will be the next Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

The defeat of the BJP's chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal from Sujanpur opened up the race for the top post in Himachal Pradesh.

He distributed fruits to the children and patients at Deen Dayal Upadhaya hospital, Shimla on occasion of birthday of former Prime Minister, Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The BJP's central observer Narendra Singh Tomar announced Thakur's name after a meeting of BJPMLAs was convened, with all unanimously deciding in his favour. He is now due to take oath as chief minister on December 27. Thakur's name was proposed by Suresh Bharadwaj and Mahender Singh and seconded by other members.

Thakur had lobbied hard for the chief minister's post and it is said that as it appeared that Dhumal may not win, he headed straight to Delhi to stake his claim.

He was elected leader of the BJP legislature party on Sunday. The BJP won nine of the 10 seats in Mandi this time. He did his post-graduation from Panjab University in Chandigarh and made a decision to join politics when he was in his 20s. Since Jai Ram is only 52 years old, he will be able to lead BJP in the state for long.

Thakur, the fourth of five siblings, lost his maiden assembly election in 1993.

A soft-spoken man, Thakur's strength is that he is seen as a leader who has managed to straddle the BJP's warring factions in Himachal Pradesh.

Thakur was elected to the state Assembly in 1998; and got re-elected in 2003 and 2007 from Chachiot Assembly Constituency, which after the delimitation has been renamed as Seraj. Apparently, Shah had also promised during an election meeting that Thakur would be given an important role in state politics once the BJP would come to power.

Other reports by Ligue1talk

Discuss This Article